Art Journal Page Christy Tomlinson Embellishments & Inspiration

Standard
Art Journal Page Christy Tomlinson Embellishments & Inspiration

It’s an oldie but goodie! I began art journaling with regularity some 6 or so years ago.  At that time I joined Christy Tomlinson’s monthly kit subscription.  I think when I began the subscription it was a scrapbooking subscription but pretty quickly became a monthly art subscription.  I created this art journal page using Christy’s embellishments and tissue paper. If you are new or newish to art journaling or crafting on a regular basis and monthly subscription kit is a great way to gather the newest supplies.  Plus when a kit comes you have to figure out how to use the supplies so it is a great way to push yourself to try new things.  The challenge with monthly art kits is that eventually you have to stop them or move to a bigger house or studio as your cup will truly run over with crafting stash.  It is never fun to give up a monthly kit but I certainly used a ton of really cool supplies while I was part of Christy’s kit.  She still offers the subscription kits in some form or another.

Art Journal w Christy Tomlinson Embellishments

I have always liked the quote, “Home, it’s where your story begins…” so when I received Christy’s ephemera kit with houses I new I was going to use the quote.  I mean how perfect is the saying with a little house?

For this page, I covered the page with tissue and magazines then I added paint using free form and stencils.  I added ephemera and embellishments from Christy and from an old card I liked.  Then I added more paint and ink as well as rubons.  I cannot remember now but this may be loosely copied from a Christy Tomlinson page.  Thank you Christy Tomlinson for guiding me when I first started mixed media art journaling.

Cheers,

TRish

Leave a Reply

