Trish’s Tuesday Tag-Butterfly Layered Tag

Standard
Trish’s Tuesday Tag-Butterfly Layered Tag

Hi.  Hello.  I am so excited to share this tag as it not only showcases some great technique, it’s pretty and my baby boy (who is 10) took this amazing picture of it.  I think the picture is just stunning!  He is one of those uber creative souls that can turn anything into something beautiful. And when I say “anything I mean it.  The beautiful picture below is of the tag while it was still a work In progress.  A less purdy picture below his masterpiece shows the finished tag–amazing what a little more ink and embellishment does to a piece of art.

Fancy pic of layered butterfly tag 

Supplies: #5 manila tag; Peacock Feathers Distress glitter; Cricut die cut music note scrap-book paper; fussy cut butterfly from scrap-book paper; white seam binding; Distress sprays in Crushed Olive and Peacock Feathers; Distress stains in same colors; dimensional foam adhesive; various Distress Inks in blues and greens and Vintage Photo; script stamp; polka dot stencil; dimensional flower embellishment.

IMG_2095

Creative Details: First I stenciled the tag using a polka dot stencil.  I used Peacock Feathers Distress Ink and some Crushed Olive Distress Ink.  I also added a squirt of Tattered Angels spray leftover from eons ago. I say, “squirt” because I love the color but the nozzle was partially obstructed which made for a bad spray.  In any case the color worked perfectly.  I edged the tag in matching Peacock Feathers Distress Ink.

After the first layer dried I stamped the tag with a script stamp in Vintage Photo Distress Ink.  I stained the ivory seam binding by crushing it into a heap and spraying it with Crushed Olive Distress Ink and Peacock Feathers Distressed Ink.  While I waited for the binding to dry I fussy cut the butterfly and scrounged around in my die cut stash for some interesting shapes.  I found a great swirl feathery die cut scrap and a music note die cut.  I glittered the swirl feather in Peacock Feathers Distress Glitter. And because I can never leave well enough alone I added some silver-blue glitter from my stash.  I like the dimension different glitters give.  I almost always mix my colored glitters.

Once everything was dry I continued layering.  I tied the seam binding around the bottom of the tag about a 1/4 of the way from the bottom.  Then I hot glued the butterfly on top of the bowed binding.  I then layered in the glittered piece and the music not die cut.  This is when my boy got a hold of the tag and took that stunning photo above.

Finally, I tied some more of the fab died seem binding to the top of the tag, layered  a dimensional flower embellishment to the music not die cut; edged the die cut with a Distress Vintage Photo Marker–I couldn’t use an ink pad as the piece was already adhered to the tag.  Small-curvy die cut called for a marker edging job.  Never as tidy or as dark but worked well with this tag.  Now I call the tag done.

Enjoy!

Trish

 

Leave a Reply

