Trish’s Tuesday Tag Valentine’s Day

Standard
Trish’s Tuesday Tag Valentine’s Day

Hi.  Happy Valentine’s (week).  Hey, so today I want to walk you through my Valentine’s Day tag creations.  I created not one but nine tags as I was just so inspired, my creative juices were flowing.  I was inspired by none other than the amazing Tim Holtz.  On his blog he hosts a 12 Tags of the Year.  He posted his February 2015 Tag earlier this month.  Check out his step by step instructions on his blog post: http://timholtz.com/12-tags-of-2015-february/

So as I collected my supplies I quickly realized that I had a lot of “left-over” ephemera, stickers, scrapbook paper and embellishments.  So I decided to create a stash tag.  And since I was saving my $$ for the Rose Bowl Flea Market on February 8 (more on that fabulous adventure next week), I decided no new purchases; though I think Tim Holtz’s metal arrows are awesome.

I began my first tag using mostly stickers and really liked the outcome.  I noticed I had a ton (maybe a bit of an overstatement) of stickers and decided to continue with tags.  Hence the nine tags.  I probably could have kept going but really.  So after I stuck all my stickers on my two sizes of tags (#5 & #8) I added some scrapbook and book paper.  Covered everything with a coat of Mod Podge and let them dry. See my 9 beauties below before any highlighting or lowlighting.

Valentine's Day 9 drying tags

As you can see some of the colors are a little strong.  I followed Tim Holtz’s step by step instructions and added some “white” paint.  His steps are easy to follow.  I followed his steps until he started adding ephemera pretty closely.  Sometimes, I don’t follow steps very closely but this time I did.  Back to the unifying “white” paint.  I used Distress Paint in “Antique Linen.” I liked the softer “white” as my tags were already stickered in “old” papers/stickers.

Once the tags were softened with Antique Linen I highlighted the tags with Black Soot Distress Marker. Then I began adding my ephemera.  Below are the tags with the ephemera laid out but not yet attached.

Valentines Day Tag w ephemera 021015

I attached (Thanks Jen Cushman for always “attaching”)  the ephemera using hot glue, Tombo adhesive, and metal wire.  And finally, I used the shipping twine that was originally on the small tags.  I wanted to de-emphasize the top of the tag as the tags themselves were so interesting and sort of strong and masculine.  I did age the twine with scattered straw.  And when I thought they were all done I decided to edge the tags.  I added some ColorBox Terracotta ink and some Scattered Straw Distress Ink around the tags.

These fast and easy tags added to the Valentine’s Day holiday decorating theme that I inadvertently started.  My Valentine’s decorations this year are red and black, with a dash of book paper.  I have a final three that I liked best–but really I am pleased with all of my tag designs.   I love the results!

Valentine's Day Final three

Cheers,

Trish

P.S. I forgot to share all the supplies I used.  Below is a picture of the supplies minus the stickers and book paper.

Valentine's Day Tags Supplies

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

